ABOUT PARTNERS EVENTS SUPPORT NEWS October 27-19 2017

Partners in Celebrating Sustainable Communities

GLBD shares events, projects and issues relevant to the GLBD community in this section.

Reading and Book Talk
In the Watershed:
A Journey Down the Maumee River

The Maumee River Basin is the largest watershed in the Great Lakes region, collecting runoff from more than 6,600 square miles in Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan and depositing it in Lake Erie—though as the lake’s largest tributary the river’s influence is not entirely positive. In this lively, ruminative book, Ryan Schnurr explores the history, ecology, and culture of the Maumee River, from the influence of glaciers, through its role in Native American and American history, to contemporary environmental issues. Part cultural history, part nature writing, part personal narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of nonfiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important message at the core.

Saturday
November 18th
6pm

Join us for a reading and book talk in partnership with Great Lakes Bioneers Detroit and Source Booksellers.

About the Author
Ryan Schnurr is a writer from northeast Indiana. His work has been published in Belt Magazine, Midwestern Gothic, and Old Northwest Review, and has been selected for inclusion in two regional anthologies: Rust Belt Chicago: An Anthology (2017) and Voices from the Rust Belt (2018). His first book of nonfiction, In the Watershed: A Journey Down the Maumee River, is out now from Belt Publishing.

More on this event here.

A Brand-New Short Film About Peace

From the Unify team:

We all want the same thing...peace.

And we know that peace begins from within, with a personal consciousness that contributes to a global consciousness. And UNIFY is here to help bring conscious humans together to amplify and activate our voices in synchronous, harmonious, glorious unity.

So we invite you to unify with our Global Campaign for Peace, which begins now, culminates on World Peace Weekend (Sept. 22-24), and continues for all eternity.

We bring you these opportunities to connect, unify and strengthen the peace within you, and to honor your consciousness as part of our global consciousness.

Watch the short and powerful film (in new browswer window).

Reverend Joan Ross and WNUC

Reverend Joan Ross is a longtime community activist in Detroit. Her radio station WNUC wants to be a space for Detroit residents to voice what matters to them.

Detroit’s North End neighborhood is changing.

It's in a part of the city that's adjacent to the residential and retail boom that's drawn so much attention to Detroit in recent years. As that development moves outward from downtown, things are starting to look a little different around here. Joan Ross is a reverend and community organizer who works in the neighborhood. And like a lot of people who've worked or lived in the city for a while, she's thinking about what those changes mean.

"We always envisioned the station to be a unifying place that groups all across the city had this radio station,"- Joan Ross Ross says a lot of the investment happening seems to benefit new residents rather than the people who've been here for decades.

She wanted to create a space for those longtime Detroiters to have conversations about their changing city, and she thought a community radio station would be a good way to do it. “We always envisioned the station to be a unifying place, that groups all across the city had this radio station,” Ross said.

For More Info visit The Michigan Radio Website

The above story is excerpted from the Michigan Radio website.

The Poor People’s Campaign


The Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival has emerged from more than a decade of work by grassroots community and religious leaders, organizations and movements fighting to end systemic racism, poverty, militarism, environmental destruction & related injustices and to build a just, sustainable and participatory society. The Campaign aims to build a broad and deep national moral movement — rooted in the leadership of poor people and reflecting the great moral teachings — to unite our country from the bottom up.

For More Info visit The Poor People's Campaign

Toxic Town:
Michigan's Most Polluted Zip Code

Professor Paul Mohai of the University of Michigan’s School of Natural Resources and Environment looked at air quality data in a part of Southwest Detroit, called 48217 for its zip code – predominately African American and surrounded by heavy industry. He found 48217 to be most toxic zip code in Michigan. The upside now? 48217 is getting more attention in the neighborhood’s fight for environmental justice there.

Book Announcement
Where the Water Goes Around:
Beloved Detroit

Where the Water Goes Around: Beloved Detroit is a biblical and political reading of Detroit over the course of three decades by an activist pastor.

Detroit is a place where one can take the temperature of the world. Think on the rise of Fordism and auto-love, the Arsenal of Democracy, the practice of the sit-down strike, or the invention of the expressway and suburban mall. Consider more recently the rebellion of 1967, the deindustrialization of a union town, the assault on democracy in this Black-majority city, the structural adjustments of municipal bankruptcy, and now a struggle for water as a human right.

Bill Wylie-Kellermann tells the story of working out his “place-based vocation” with a simultaneous commitment to gospel non-violence. He evokes the place Anishinabe people tread lightly the banks of Wawiatonong, “where the water goes around.” One narrative thread walks a procession through the streets, a contemporary “stations of the cross,” to the locations of crucifixion today. Another tells the story of resurrection in struggle and human community. Herein are public disruptions, liturgical direct actions, and courtroom trials. In resistance and risk, this book proclaims the gospel in context.

More on the book here.


GREAT LAKES BIONEERS DETROIT

It’s all alive. It’s all intelligent.
It’s all connected. It’s all relatives.